Wednesday Glimpses

Deep beneath

the edging of consciousness

simmer

flashes of passion

fleetingly baring

wondrous faces

in haunting music

in mountains’ splendid embrace

in poetic words

alluding to the depths.

Artfully chosen

words draw the curtain

momentarily

leaving the gasp of rapture

warm on your lips.

Passion so bashful

goes numb

in the blankness of constant noise

endless screens

the next excitement

crying for your attention.

Only the days of fidgety silence

sanding down your senses,

a form emerging

a graceful figure

in the polished marble.

Even tainted by the world’s sadness

now listen to that fiery song,

the Ultimate muse

wooing his creation

back under his wings.

10 responses to “Wednesday Glimpses

  1. Carole Wachsmuth

    I hear that voice in the quietness of early morning. I love this beautiful new way of thinking of the call. Thank you.

  2. Terry Vanderslice

    Thank you! I read it 4 times and see something different each time.

    Terry

  3. Anne-Marie Wachsmuth

    Beautiful. Thanks for helping me awaken my senses….see the glimpses.

  4. Jill Bergeron sent me your blog and I am moved by your poem. I really enjoy the lines:
    flashes of passion
    fleetingly baring
    wondrous faces
    in haunting music
    These lines resonate in me. Keep on writing and doing God’s work.

  5. Wow! Beautiful.

  6. Connie DeVaughn

    We are going to church camp this weekend, and I am putting your poem in our booklet as food for thought. Our theme is “transformation” and the sanding of marble with the figure emerging, the Ultimate muse wooing his creation, and going away from the blankness of constant noise which screens the next excitement calling our attention…it all fits so beautifully with what we want for this weekend, even if you didn’t mean it that way. I’ve put several inspirational quotes in our booklet, but yours is the only poem, and I think the nuances and depth will be thought provoking to everyone who chooses to muse on it. Thanks! PS: I also quoted your quote from Miguel de Unamuno in my sermon last Sunday. So you are giving a lot to me.

  7. Loving the poetic commentary Mel! Thanks for the inspiration and heart.

  8. Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

